FAQ and Glossary

In a global world, speaking the same language is essential, particularly in
an image production chain.

You will find a list of the most relevant questions and a glossary
of the most used terms in our profession.

What is the role of Images3 in the graphics chain?

Images3 is positioned between content producers – photographers, creative agencies, advertisers – and content distributors – printing companies, all types of media, points of sale, events, etc.

Images3 starts from the basic image then performs verification, retouching, integrating into an existing runtime file or creating a new one, adjusting the colours, organising the proof control and then distributing the final file, either to the media or a file repository to for storage and archiving in a database.

This operation is repeated many times throughout the certified quality process, across a vast array of image subjects, formats and media. This process is an integral part in managing our clients’ brand image. Subsequently, Images3 enjoys a unique point of view, between the basic image and the final file and is able to manage and optimise the multiple runtime files that make up the brand image of its clients.

/File repository*: also referred to as a Mediacenter or Digital Asset Management (DAM)

 

What is prepress?

Prepress is a generic term which covers all the processes involved in preparing documents before they are disseminated via a medium.

Originally, this step only involved preparing documents before going under the press in a printing project, hence the word prepress! These days it involves adapting documents to the media requirements (web or print), all of which are now in digital formats.

What is the difference between an RGB and CMYK image?

An RGB image (Red, Green, Blue) is a work file for retouching and optimisation, of sufficient quality to be displayed on computer screens.

The CMYK image is a result of this work, it is an image which can be adapted to a certain type of printing and paper. For example, the offset printing method on coated paper requires a CMYK image.

For further information on CMYK and RGB:

  • CMJN is the acronym for the four primary colours: Cyan, Magenta, Yellow, and Key (black). It is the colourimetric mode for printing. It enables the reproduction of a large palette of colours by mixing the three primary colours: cyan, magenta and yellow. Black is added at the end of the printing process.
  • Le RVB (Red, Green, Blue) is the default colourimetric mode for computer screens. The colours displayed depend on your screen configuration. On two different screens, the colours displayed can have a different render even if the nuances are the same.

How do I know the size of the image I can print?

Before printing, you should verify that the image file will produce adequate quality for the print. This is measured by three important parameters: definition, size and resolution.

  • Definition, is the number of pixels (of points) that make up the height and width of the image.
  • Size is that of the image to print, its dimensions once it is printed.
  • Resolution is result of the definition and the size. In photography, it corresponds to the number of pixels per surface unit, the concept of pixel density. It is measured in DPI (dots per inch). An inch is 2.54 cm. These three characteristics interact in the preparation of your images.

For standard formats the optimal resolution is 300 DPI at 100% size. .

For example, if you “stretched” an image of 72 DPI to 150%, you would get an image with an effective resolution of 36 DPI (72/2), which is very low quality. However, if the image is reduced to 50%, the final result would be an image with an effective resolution of 144 DPI (72×2). For specific formats and especially for large formats such as tarps and billboards, please contact us directly.

 

Why should images be adapted to the media format?

Each medium has requirements that are unique: display and colour management, technical specifications, ink, image size and type of paper. er.

Each of these unique requirements must be taken into account when preparing the image.

For print, the image must be adapted to the paper type (coated or uncoated), the printing method, even the choice of ink.

For the web, the image will be adapted according to size and optimal definition

 

Why have a profile?

A colourimetry profile is the colour ID card of a colour reproduction device. It is sometimes called an ICC profile (International Color Consortium). The profile is created during the calibration of the device. Each device has its own profile.

This profile tells us how a printer, scanner, camera or screen will behave with colours. The profile facilitates the consistency between images from different devices and thus ensures colour display according to the initial requirements.

 

News
Choose Images3ServicesClients
HomeTeamJobsProcessus ISO/PSOFAQNewsContact Transfert de fichiers

This site uses cookies to provide you an optimal browsing experience. By continuing to visit this site, you agree to the use of these cookies.

FAQ & lexique

Dans un monde global, parler la même langue devient essentiel, et plus encore dans la chaîne de production de l'image.

Voici une liste des questions parmi les plus pertinentes et un lexique des termes les plus utilisés dans notre métier.

Quel est le rôle d'Images3 dans la chaîne graphique?

Images3 se place entre les producteurs de contenus – photographe, agence créative, annonceur – et les distributeurs de contenus – imprimeurs, médias tous supports, points de vente, évènements, etc.

Images3 travaille à partir de l’image de base puis la contrôle, la retouche, l’intègre dans un fichier d’exécution existant ou à créer, gère les couleurs, organise l’épreuve de contrôle puis distribue le fichier final, que ce soit vers les médias ou dans un référentiel* pour y être stocké et archivé sur la base de métadonnées.

Cette opération est répétée de nombreuses fois, au sein de processus de qualité certifiés, pour des sujets d’images et des formats très variés sur de nombreux supports. Ce process fait partie intégrante de la gestion de l’image de marque des clients. Images3 possède donc un point de vue unique, entre l’image de base et le fichier final, pour gérer et optimiser les nombreux fichiers d’exécution qui constituent l’image de marque de ses clients.

Référentiel*: également dénommé Médiacenter ou Digital Asset Management (DAM)

 

A quoi sert le prépresse?

Le prépresse est un mot générique qui recouvre tous les processus de préparation des documents, avant la diffusion dans un média.

A l’origine, cette étape ne concernait que la préparation des documents avant la mise sous presse, dans le cadre d’un projet d’imprimerie, d’où le nom prépresse!  Maintenant il s’agit d’adapter les documents aux exigences des médias (web ou print), des documents qui sont tous sur des supports digitaux.

Quelle est la différence entre une image RVB et CMJN?

L’image RVB (Rouge, Vert, Bleu) est un fichier de travail pour la retouche et l’optimisation, de qualité suffisante pour l’affichage sur des écrans d’ordinateur.

L’image CMJN est la résultante de ce travail, une image qui sera adaptée pour un certain type d’impression et un certain type de papier. Par exemple, le procédé d’impression en offset sur papier couché nécessite une image CMJN.

Pour plus de précisions sur le CMJN et le RVB:

  • CMJN est l’acronyme de la quadrichromie: Cyan, Magenta, Jaune, Noir (CMYK en anglais). C’est le mode colorimétrique destiné à l’imprimerie. Il permet de reproduire une large palette de couleurs en mélangeant les 3 couleurs primaires : le cyan, le magenta et le jaune. On ajoute le noir à la fin du processus d’impression.
  • Le RVB (Rouge, Vert, bleu) ou RGB (red, Green, Blue) en anglais est le mode colorimétrique utilisé par défaut sur les écrans d’ordinateur. L’affichage des couleurs dépend de la configuration de votre écran. Sur deux écrans différents, les couleurs affichées peuvent avoir un rendu différent même si les nuances sont respectées.

 

Comment connaître la taille à laquelle je peux imprimer une image?

Avant toute impression, il faut vérifier que le fichier d’image offre une qualité suffisante pour le tirage à réaliser. Et cela passe par trois paramètres importants : la définition, la taille et la résolution.

  • La définition, c’est le nombre de pixels (de points) que compte l’image en hauteur et en largeur.
  • La taille est celle de l’image à imprimer, donc ses dimensions une fois sur le papier.
  • La résolution est le rapport entre la définition et la taille. Elle correspond, en photographie, à un nombre de pixels par unité de surface, à une notion de densité de pixels. Elle est mesurée en DPI (dot per inch en anglais, soit point par pouce). Un pouce (« inch ») vaut 2,54 cm.Ces trois caractéristiques interagissent dans la préparation de vos images.

Pour les formats standards, la résolution optimale est de 300 DPI à une taille de 100%.

Par exemple, si vous « poussez » une image de 72 DPI à 150%, vous obtiendrez une image de 36 DPI effectifs (72/2), donc une qualité très faible. Si par contre cette même image est réduite à 50%, le résultat final sera de une image de 144 DPI effectifs (72×2).

Pour les formats spécifiques et notamment les grands formats comme les bâches ou billboards, il faut nous contacter directement.

 

Pourquoi adapter les images selon le support média?

Chaque média répond à des spécificités qui lui sont propres: affichage et gestion des couleurs, spécifications techniques, encre, poids des images, type de papier.

L’image devra être préparée pour tenir compte de ces spécificités.

Pour le print, l’image devra être adaptée en fonction du papier (couché ou non), du procédé d’impression, voire de l’encre utilisée.

Pour le web, l’image sera adaptée en fonction du poids et de la définition optimale

 

A quoi sert un profil?

Un profil colorimétrie est la carte d’identité couleur d’un appareil de reproduction de couleurs. Il est quelquefois appelé profil ICC (International Color Consortium). Le profil est créé lors du calibrage de l’appareil. Chaque appareil a le sien.

Ce profil permet de savoir comment une imprimante, un scanner, un appareil photo ou un écran va se comporter avec les couleurs. Le profil permet d’établir une cohérence entre les images provenant d’appareils différents et donc, de garantir l’affichage des couleurs selon les objectifs de départ.